The Beckett Blog


Card gallery: 2010 Topps Update You Sketched It! cards by Chris Olds
November 16, 2010, 1:44 pm
Filed under: Card gallery, MLB, Topps | Tags: , , , , ,

By Chris Olds | Editor

You might not have noticed them buried deep in the sea of odds on wrappers of 2010 Topps Update baseball cards, but the set includes the first collector-created Sketch Cards ever released into a pack.

A limited number of those blank sketch cards found in packs of 2010 Topps Series 2 have been returned with added ink, pencil or other media and are framed as 1/1s and found in packs. (We’ll not bother telling you the odds in Update. It’s a bit depressing.)

Topps recently teased a few of the cards that are found in Update packs.

See a gallery of the images after the jump.

Chris Olds is the editor of Beckett Baseball. Have a comment, question or idea? Send an e-mail to him at colds@beckett.com. Follow him on Twitter by clicking here.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am sure many of the artists are not professionals…but it would be interesting to “Google” the artist’s names and see if any are professionals.

On a different note…I pulled a 1/1 artist sketch card of Gordon Beckham, drawn by Bob Stevlic from a Series 2 HTA Jumbo pack…I sold it on E-Bay for $90. I wonder if I should have held on to it?

Comment by Abe Doctor

My sketch is the Brian McCann card. I never thought it would have been selected but now that it has I am honored to have my drawing placed in Topps Update Series product. I don’t consider myself a professional artist but I do sell my artwork when I find time from my busy teaching schedule.

Clint Neidig

Comment by Clint NEIDIG




Leave a Reply

